News and Events for Attorneys and Executives

Presenting Alice-Friendly Patent Claims: Is McRo Worth a Second Look?

Intellectual property IPFitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP will present a free webinar, “Presenting Alice-Friendly Patent Claims: Is McRo Worth a Second Look?,” featuring Fitch Even partner Steven G. Parmelee.

The event will be Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2017, at 9 am PDT / 10 am MDT / 11 am CDT / 12 noon EDT.

CLE credit has been approved for California, Illinois, and Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request. There is no fee to attend, but registration is required.

While the Federal Circuit has identified small precedential islands of relative safety, the court has yet to chart a veritable Northwest Passage through which one can safely navigate the risks and concerns presented by the Supreme Court’s Alice decision, the firm says on its website.

Or have they?

McRo, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America, Inc., et al. is sometimes considered for its rather tepid and, to date, somewhat inconsequential consideration of preemption issues. McRo’s analysis and holding regarding abstractness, however, is perhaps more valuable to those writing and prosecuting patent applications than has been generally acknowledged to date.

During this webinar, presenter Steve Parmelee will be explore these questions:
• Whether McRo presents a new two-step abstractness analysis that offers useful and practical opportunities
• If so, whether such an opportunity is “more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea] itself”

He will also share these insights, among others:
• Anecdotal McRo prosecution experience at the USPTO
• Claim and specification drafting tips

Following the live event, a recording of the webinar will be available to view for one year at www.fitcheven.com.

Register for the webinar.

 

Join Our LinkedIn Group

 

image_pdfimage_print

Tags: ,

Top