News and Events for Attorneys and Executives

Webinar: Lessons Learned from Federal Opinions on Patentable Subject Matter

Intellectual property IPFitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP will present a free webinar, “Alice in Chains? Lessons Learned from Recent Federal Circuit Opinions on Patentable Subject Matter,” presented by Eric L. Broxterman and David A. Gosse.

The webinar will take place on Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2017, at 9:00 am PST / 10:00 am MST / 11:00 am CST / 12:00 noon EST.

The Federal Circuit has overruled several district court opinions finding patents invalid for lack of patentable subject matter, most recently in Enfish v. Microsoft, BASCOM v. AT&T Mobility, and McRO v. Bandai Namco Games America. This webinar will review these and other Federal Circuit opinions that have begun to define the boundaries of “abstract ideas” under the Supreme Court’s Alice test.

The event will cover the following topics and more:
• The test for patentable subject matter under Alice v. CLS Bank
• A survey of recent Federal Circuit cases
• Considerations when responding to a motion for dismissal based on Alice
• How claim construction can alter the analysis of patentable subject matter

CLE credit has been approved for California and Illinois and is pending in Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request.

Following the live event, a recording of the webinar will be available to view for one year at fitcheven.com.

Register for the webinar.

 

Join Our LinkedIn Group

 

 

image_pdfimage_print

Tags: ,

Top