News and Events for Attorneys and Executives

Understanding AIA 102: Prior Art Exceptions and Declaration Practice

Intellectual property IPFitch, Even, Tabin & Flannery LLP will present a free webinar, “Understanding AIA 102: Prior Art Exceptions and Declaration Practice,” featuring Fitch Even partner Alan E. Schiavelli.

The webinar will take place on Thursday, August 17, 2017, at 9:00 am PDT / 10:00 am MDT / 11:00 am CDT / 12:00 noon EDT.

CLE credit has been approved for California, Illinois, and Nebraska. Other states may also award CLE credit upon attendee request. There is no fee to attend, but registration is required. Register at https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/8108721617713884931

More and more patent applications now being examined and granted by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office are first-inventor-to-file applications under the America Invents Act (AIA). The AIA redefined which documents and activities constitute prior art that may be used to reject patent applications and invalidate patents.

During this webinar, attendees will gain a basic understanding of the statutory framework of 35 U.S.C. § 102, including the categories of prior art defined by the statute, the exceptions to those categories, and the manner in which the exceptions can be invoked. We will also discuss a recent Federal Circuit panel decision some see as undermining Congress’s intent in establishing the AIA’s on-sale bar.

Specific topics will include these and more:

• Changes to prior public use and sale
• Prior art under 102(a)(1) and exceptions
• Prior art under 102(a)(2) and exceptions
• Declaration practice under AIA 102
• Ramifications of Helsinn Healthcare v. Teva Pharmaceuticals

Following the live event, a recording of the webinar will be available to view for one year at www.fitcheven.com.

Register for the webinar.

 

Join Our LinkedIn Group

 

image_pdfimage_print

Tags:

Top