News and Events for Attorneys and Executives

29th Presentation of the Leon Jaworski Award

Donna Petrone, counsel with ExxonMobile Corp., will be presented the 2017 Leon Jaworski Award by the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary.

The presentation will be at an event Wednesday, March 8, 7-9 a.m. CST at Junior League of Houston, 1811 Briar Oaks Lane, Houston, TX 77027. Tickets may be purchased here.

Petrone was nominated by Catholic Charities for her work. She has been involved in ExxonMobil’s pro bono program for years, earning the Pro Bono Volunteer of the Year Award for her work 2014. She has participated in and sponsored numerous pro bono activities including Citizenship and DACA clinics, Pro Se Divorce Clinics, Saturday Morning Clinics, and Veterans clinics.  She has also handled Kids in Need of Defense cases (KIND).

In a release, the auxiliary reported:

In 1983, the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary appointed an Ad Hoc Committee to develop an award program to honor lawyers for long-time community service. The first award was made in 1988. The award is named for Leon Jaworski (1905-1982) whose life and achievements reflected a deep commitment to public service.

Through the award program, the Houston Bar Association Auxiliary seeks to inform and educate the public about the dedication of lawyers to the laws that govern us all and about the commitment of members of the bar to the improvement of the community as a whole.

Houston has been fortunate in having countless lawyers who have contributed unselfishly to civic and charitable endeavors. In recognizing the efforts of an outstanding lawyer each year, the Auxiliary honors all lawyers who help make the legal profession an abiding source of community good.

This award is to be given to a member in good standing of the Houston Bar Association who is civically minded, professionally capable, socially and culturally concerned, family oriented, morally and spiritually aware and who has demonstrated these qualities over a significant number of years.

Past award recipients include Lynne Liberato, Carol S. Vance, Kelly Frels, Charles C. Foster, Charles C. Foster, Rufus P. Cormier, Jr. and Bill Kroger.

Join Our LinkedIn Group